Dominican Republic Government
Country Name
Conventional long form:
Dominican Republic
Local long form:
República Dominicana
Government type:
Representative Democracy
Santo Domingo
27 February 1844 (from Haiti)
National holiday:
Independence Day, 27 February (1844)
28 November 1966
Legal system:
Based on French Civil Codes
18 Years Of Age, Universal And Compulsory; Married Persons Regardless
Of Age
Cabinet Nominated By The President


Legislative Branch
Bicameral National Congress Or Congreso Nacional Consists Of The Senate Or Senado (30 Seats; Members Are Elected By Popular Vote To Serve Four-Year Terms) And The Chamber Of Deputies Or Camara De Diputados (149 Seats; Members Are Elected By Popular Vote To Serve Four-Year Terms).


Senate – Last Held 16 May 1998 (Next To Be Held NA May 2002);
Chamber Of Deputies – Last Held 16 May 1998 (Next To Be Held NA May 2002)


Election Results
Senate – Percent Of Vote By Party – %
PRD 30.67
PLD 49.02
PRSC 8.14
Chamber Of Deputies – Percent Of Vote By Party – NA%; Seats By Party PRD 83
PLD 49


Judicial Branch
Supreme Court Or Corte Suprema (Judges Are Elected By A Council Made Up Of Members Of The Legislative And Executive Branches With The
President Presiding)


Political Parties And Leaders
Dominican Liberation Party Or PLD [Leonel FERNANDEZ Reyna] Dominican Revolutionary Party Or PRD [Sanchez Baret]
Social Christian Reformist Party Or PRSC [Joaquin BALAGUER Ricardo]


Political Pressure Groups And Leaders
Collective Of Popular Organizations Or COP.


International Organization Participation
ACP, Caricom (Observer), ECLAC, FAO, G-11, G-77, IADB, IAEA, BRD, ICAO, ICFTU, ICRM, IDA, IFAD, IFC, IFRCS, IHO, ILO, IMF, IMO, Intelsat, Interpol, IOC, IOM, ISO (Subscriber), ITU, LAES, LAIA
(Observer), NAM (Observer), OAS, OPANAL, OPCW (Signatory), PCA, UN, UNCTAD, UNESCO, UNIDO, UPU, WCL, WFTU, WHO, WIPO, WMO, Wtoo, Wtro.


Diplomatic Representation In The US
Chief Of Mission: Ambassador Roberto Bienvenido SALADIN-SELIN


Flag Description
A Centered White Cross That Extends To The Edges Divides The Flag Into Four Rectangles – The Top Ones Are Blue (Hoist Side) And Red, And The Bottom Ones Are Red (Hoist Side) And Blue; A Small Coat Of Arms Is At The Center Of The Cross


Administrative Divisions
31 provinces (provincias, singular – provincia) and 1
district* (distrito)


Azua Monseñor Nouel
Bahoruco Monte Cristi
Barahona Monte Plata
Dajabón Pedernales
Duarte Peravia
El Seibo Puerto Plata
Elías Piña Salcedo
Espaillat Samaná
Hato Mayor San Cristóbal
Independencia San Juan